1st Inter-Batch Moot Court Championship-2017

In order to provide an enlightened and instigating expedition of the young legal minds into the multifaceted realm of International Humanitarian Law (IHL), a Moot Court Competition was organized for the first time by the Moot Court Society, Department of Law, State University of Bangladesh (SUB). The competition was successfully held at the main campus of State University Bangladesh from 08-10 August, 2017. A total number of 24 competitors in 08 teams have participated in the competition. The format of the competition was similar to that of the well know Henry Dunant Memorial Moot competition, which is usually organized by the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) regularly; as such tribute was paid to the founder of the ICRC at the beginning of the competition. Four (04) among the 08 (eight) teams forwarded to the semifinals and lastly the 02 (two) best teams faced in the final which held on the 08th of August. After the phases of long intense mooting, 16th batch of the Law Department of SUB emerged as the winner (Champion) of the competition whereas 22nd batch came up as the 2nd best team (Runner-up). Mahafuzur Rahman of 16th Batch bagged the Best Advocate (Best Mooter) award and the best Researcher award went to Md. Abdur Rahim of 16th Batch. A special judges’ bench comprised of Dr.Nakib Mohammad Nasrullah (Professor of Laws, University of Dhaka), former District and Session Judge Mr. Asgar Ali (associate Professor, Law, SUB), and BarristerMonjur Rabbi Tonoy, (Advocate, Supreme Court of Bangladesh) adjudicated the Final Round. Besides, The valedictory session was chaired by Dr. Asif Nazrul, Advisor, Department of Law,along with all faculty members of the Department.Dr. LutfulHasan, Acting Registrar, State University of Bangladesh were also present as special guest. In their remarks, the speakers emphasizedon the importance of ‘learning by doing’ or practical legal education. The depth of research of the participants in the competition was highly praised by Dr. Asif Nazrul. The competition has been ended through prize giving ceremony.